Album Information

The Oracle

Released October 30, 2001

Order Album


The Oracle

In November 2000, Mark Boals finally left Yngwie Malmsteen's band and Vitalij Kuprij put on hold his band Artension, they talked about the possibility of forming a real new super-band. Virgil Donati immediately agreed to be part of it, while Tony MacAlpine had to pass on the offer due to his commitments to several other projects. A replacement was soon found in the talented guitarist George Bellas (Mogg/Way) and the experienced bassist Barry Dunaway (Pat Travers, Malmsteen) joined to complete the lineup. In January 2001 Barry suddenly left the band, immediately substituted by Philip Bynoe (Steve Vai Band).

Rehearsals finally started in Chicago during February 2001 at George Bellas' studio, while recording happened one month later at Steve Vai's Mothership Studio in LA. The mix was later given in the hands of Erik Norlander and Neil Citron for a result that can easily be considered as one of the best productions / performances in neoclassical heavy metal music ever!

"This album’s got Bellas and Kuprij in it, so you know it’s going to be a neo-classical metal shredfest."
Encyclopaedia Metallum
"It’s got a lot of prog influences that are especially apparent at the beginning, and the solos will probably cause your face to spontaneously combust."
Encyclopaedia Metallum
"The combined might of the sheer technical talent is stunning. I knew George could rip but man, this is sweet! That boy can shred!"
Metal Rules

Bellas_MinnemannRing of Fire - Los Angeles, California 2001

"...keyboardist Vitalij Kuprij and drummer Virgil Donati staying on from the solo albums while George Bellas replaced Tony Macalpine and former Steve Vai bassist Philip Bynoe joining in on bass."
Rate Your Music
"The Oracle remains an unabashedly neoclassical power-metal record."
Sea of Tranquility

Released Worldwide
Frontiers Records


  1. Prelude
  2. Circle Of Time
  3. Shadow In The Dark
  4. Vengeance For Blood
  5. Samurai
  6. City Of The Dead
  7. Dreams Of Empire
  8. The Oracle
  9. Interlude
  10. Land Of Illusion
  11. Take Me Home
  12. Face The Fire

Running Time 61:22


  • Mark Boals - Vocals
  • George Bellas - Guitars
  • Vitalij Kuprij- Keyboards
  • Virgil Donati - Drums
  • Phil Bynoe - Bass
  • Composed by Mark Boals & Vitalij Kuprij
  • Produced by Ring Of Fire
  • Mixed at The Mothership
  • Mastered at Think Tank Studio
  • Artwork by Dave Stephens
  • Recorded at The Mothership, Bellas Music Studio, The Green Room & Think Tank Studio
  • © 2001 Ring of Fire
  • ℗ Ring of Fire, BMI.


Paragraph Title

Thanks to Vitalij Kuprij, Mark Boals, Virgil Donati, Philip Bynoe, and the crew at Steve Vai's Mothership Studio. A warm and genuine thank you to my family, friends, and fans around the world for all their support and understanding of my devotion.
George Bellas